Home  /  Apollo People

Apollo Drug Discovery Team

The drug discovery team are highly experienced applied scientists with expertise in the discovery and development of new experimental drugs from a range of modalities and therapeutic indications. The drug discovery team will work with academic scientists from the three Universities to identify the best translational targets and to prosecute and deliver a pipeline of products for licensing

Dr Richard Butt

Apollo Therapeutics CEO

    Dr Paul Hamblin

    Apollo Therapeutics Project Director

      Dr Nadine Clemo

      Apollo Therapeutics Project Director

        Dr Darren Cawkill

        Apollo Therapeutics Project Director

          • The drug discovery team have been recruited specifically with experience
            of translating early research into successful drug discovery programmes in the Biopharm industry.

          Apollo Investment Committee

          The investment committee has sole responsibility for reviewing and endorsing the project proposals, plans, costs, timelines and licensing strategy proposed by the drug discovery team

          Dr Ian Tomlinson

          Apollo Therapeutics Chairman

            Dr Stephen Martin

            VP & Head of Biopharm Molecular Discovery, GSK

              Dr Richard Mason

              Head of Johnson & Johnson Innovation, London

                Dr Mike Snowden

                Investment Committee Member

                  Dr Iain Thomas

                  Head of Life Sciences Technology Transfer, Cambridge Enterprise

                    Dr Rick Fagan

                    Director of BioPharm, UCLB

                      Dr Tony Hickson

                      Managing Director, Technology Transfer & Executive Director Imperial Innovations Group PLC

                        • Introducing the LLP Committee

                        Apollo LLP Committee

                        The LLP Committee have responsibility for the management and control of Apollo, including approval of the business plan, the annual budget and the setting of various key governance policies

                        Dr Maria Dahl

                        Executive Business Development Director - Oncology, AstraZeneca

                          Anne Lane

                          Executive Director, UCLB

                            Mark Parsons

                            Head of Finance and Accounting, University of Cambridge Enterprise

                              Nigel Pitchford

                              Chief Investment Officer, Imperial Innovations

                                Robert Neal

                                Director, Alliance Management, GSK R&D

                                  Jeanne Bolger

                                  Vice President, Venture Investments J & J

                                    • Introducing the Scientific Advisory Board

                                    Scientific Advisory Board

                                    The Scientific Advisory board will meet annually and advise Apollo on science, portfolio and relevant emerging trends and priorities in the Biopharm and University environments

                                    Prof. Sir Stephen Bloom

                                    Head of Division for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism, ICL

                                      Dr Bill Hait

                                      Global Head, Janssen Research & Development

                                        Prof. Jim Huntingdon

                                        Chair, Department of Hematology, University of Cambridge

                                          Dr Mene Pangalos

                                          Executive Vice President, Innovative Medicines and Early Development Biotech Unit, AstraZeneca

                                            Prof. Sir Mark Pepys

                                            Director, Wolfson Drug Discovery Unit, UCL

                                              Prof Patrick Vallance

                                              President, Pharmaceutical R&D, GSK